Posted on

Spring races, new faces for area boards

Spring races, new faces for area boards Spring races, new faces for area boards

Slate of candidates set for area school board races

There will be new faces on area school boards this spring as incumbents decide not to run and new candidates take out nomination papers.

The deadline for filing nomination papers for the April spring election was 5 p.m. on Tuesday. Positions were up for election on area school and municipal boards.

In the Medford Area Public School District, incumbents DeDe Strama and Oralee Dittrich filed non candidacy paperwork that they will not be seeking another term. Current school board president Dave Fleegel as well as board member Barb Knight are running for reelection. Because Knight had been appointed last spring to fill Mark Reuter’s position, she is running for a full term of office this year.

Three other people have also taken out nomination papers. Retired Stetsonville Elementary School principal Don Everhard has filed candidacy paperwork along with Aemus Balsis and Jodi Nuernberger.

For the Rib Lake school board, incumbents Stacy Tlusty (town of Westboro) and Jackie Mohr (at-large) have filed candidacy papers. Current board president Steve Martin (town of Rib Lake) has filed non candidacy paperwork. Nicole Glenzer has filed as a candidate for the town of Rib Lake seat.

In the Gilman School district current board president Bruce Ewings and incumbent Darrell Thompson have filed to run for reelection as well as Chris Skabroud who was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board earlier this fall. In the city of Medford, incumbent aldermen Greg Kight, Laura Holmes, Dave Roiger and Mike Bub have all filed for reelection. They are unopposed in those seats.

In the village of Rib Lake Village President William Schreiner is running unopposed for another term. Incumbent trustees Russ Bullis and George Tesch have filed for reelection. Incumbent Keith Hanke filed non candidacy and Rocky Jones has filed to run for the open seat.

In the village of Gilman Village President Jane DeStaercke and trustees Eileen Grunseth and Greg Steinbach are up for reelection. There is also an open trustee position. Gilman will determine candidates at a caucus to be held on January 13. Those interested in running for the board should contact village clerk Candice Grunseth.

On the county-wide ballot, judge Ann Knox-Bauer is running for reelection. She is unopposed.

There will be one statewide race on the ballot with incumbent state superintendent of public instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor who was appointed to fill the position in January 2019, filed a notice of non candidacy. A wide range of candidates will face off in a primary election scheduled for Feb. 16, 2021. Candidates running for Superintendent of Public Instruction include: Jill Underly of Hollandale, Sheila Briggs of Deforest, Deborah Kerr of Caledonia, Joe Fenrick of Fond du Lac, Steve Krull of Milwaukee, Shandowlyon Hendricks-Williams of Milwaukee and Troy Gunderson of West Salem.