Posted on

Election update

Election update Election update

Medford mayor’s race may be only contested local race in county

The city of Medford’s mayor’s race not only appears to be the top local contest on the spring ballot but the only local contested race.

Alderman Mike Bub is challenging incumbent Mike Wellner for the mayor’s position. Wellner is seeking his ninth term as mayor. He has held the position since 2004.

In other city of Medford races, incumbents Dave Brandner (District 1), Christine Weix (District 3) and Clem Johnson (District 4) have indicated they are running for reelection.

In District 2, which includes the southeastern corner of the city, longtime alderman Peggy Kraschnewski announced she would not be seeking reelection. Tim Hansen, who serves on the city planning commission and represents the area on the county board has taken out nomination papers to run for the alderman seat.

In addition to the city of Medford, there are also county board elections this spring. According to the county clerk’s office, as of Monday afternoon, all but three incumbents have filed that they will be running for reelection. City representatives to the county board Dave Roiger and Tim Hansen and District 15 supervisor Earl Hinkel of Gilman have not filed with the county clerk’s office.

Candidates have until January 7 to file their nomination papers.

Voters in Wisconsin will take to the polls on February 18 to vote in partisan primary election for the District 7 congressional seat formerly held by Sean Duffy.

With no primaries anticipated for local school, county board and municipal elections, the general spring election and presidential preference primary will be held on Tuesday, April 7.

Voters are encouraged to check the state’s voter roles at to make sure they are registered. Wisconsin allows registration prior to the election as well as on the day of the election. Voters who have moved are reminded to register at their new address and must bring proof of residency with them when registering. Voters may register at their town, village or city clerk’s office prior to the election, at the polling place on election day or online at