Posted on

Diedrich awarded all-state

Diedrich awarded all-state Diedrich awarded all-state

Brehm is HM defensive allstate player

Athens senior Cooper Diedrich was an electrifying player on the football field this season, both as the team’s starting quarterback and defensive back, in helping lead the Bluejays to an undefeated 11-0 season in their first year competing in 8-player football.

For his efforts, Cooper was named to the 2021 Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) 8-player All-State team as a defensive back. Cooper, the son of Craig and Danielle Diedrich, measures at six feet, 210 pounds, but he plays much bigger than his size. Cooper intercepted four passes from opposing quarterbacks this season, and he then used his tremendous speed to outrun the other team to the end zone for three touchdowns.

He played extremely well for his father, Craig, who is the Athens defensive coordinator. Cooper tallied 50 tackles, including four tackles for loss this season. Cooper also forced a fumble and he recovered a fumble, and he deflected six passes while guarding opponents’ receivers.

Cooper received both the 8-player Rogue Conference offensive and defensive Player of the Year awards, and he was thus named the overall Rogue Conference Player of the Year. Cooper completed 32 of 59 passes for 596 yards, seven touchdowns and one interception. He ran the ball 86 times for 1,687 yards and 31 touchdowns, and he also scored 15 two-point conversions.

He was also made the WFSA All-Region team in 8-player North as both a quarterback and defensive back.

A person has to wonder if Cooper would’ve helped lead Athens to a state championship in 8-player football this year? Unfortunately for the Bluejays, the WIAA doesn’t allow football teams that switch from 11-man to 8-player football to compete in the playoffs right away.

Wausau Newman, which backed out on playing against Athens during the 8-player regular season because it feared a loss would’ve affected its playoff seeding, ended up beating Luck in the 8-player state championship game this season.

Athens head coach Todd Diethelm was awarded the Rogue Conference Coach of the Year. Cooper was an unanimous Rogue Conference selection at quarterback, along with Athens senior offensive lineman Kody Lepak. Bluejays senior running back Caleb Borchardt and junior wide receiver/ tight end Aiden Janke also made first team all-conference.

Bluejays senior Evan Guralski, Borchardt and Janke all received first team all-Rogue Conference as defensive linemen. Cooper and fellow senior Caden Decker were awarded first team all-Rogue Conference as defensive backs, and junior Kyler Ellenbecker also made first team all-conference at linebacker.

Brehm HM All-State

Edgar senior defensive back Everet Brehm, who measures at six feet and 140 pounds, received 2021 WFCA Small School honorable mention All-State this season. He tallied 66 tackles, including three tackles for loss, for the Wildcats this fall. He also had an interception, a blocked kick and three pass deflections. He was also named as a defensive back to the WFCA All-Region Team 2-Small.

Everet, the son of Doug and Barb Brehm, was awarded unanimous first team all-Marawood Conference at defensive back this season. The speedster was also a dangerous returner, as he took two punts back to the house for scores. Everet also received first team all-conference at receiver this year.

Other Edgar players receiving unanimous first team all-Marawood Conference are sophomore Karter Butt in the offensive backfield, senior Ayden Weisenberger at defensive end and senior Jordan Bunkelman at outside linebacker. Bunkelman was also awarded to the WFCA All-Region Team 2-Small.

The following Wildcats were named second team all-Marawood Conference: senior receiver Ashton Schuett; senior offensive linemen Jace Kohel and Parker Schuette, junior offensive linemen Brady Stencil and Carver Higgins and inside linebacker Karter Butt.

Marathon junior Drew Love was awarded first team all-Marawood Conference as an offensive lineman. Red Raiders senior Jaden Koeller received second team all-Marawood Conference as both a receiver and punter. Other Marathon football players receiving second team all-conference were junior Matt Annis in the offensive backfi eld, senior Nathan Hanke at outside linebacker and junior Mason Seehafer at defensive back.

Colby dominated the conference’s top awards after the Hornets won the Marawood Conference with an unbeaten conference record this season, before winning the WIAA Division 6 state championship. Colby’s Jim Hagen was the conference Coach of the Year, senior Brent Jeske was the conference Back of the Year and his brother, senior Andrew Jeske, was the conference’s Lineman of the Year.

The following Edgar football players received honorable mention all-Marawood Conference this season: senior offensive lineman Waylon Wirkus, senior defensive back Peyton Dahlke, junior linebacker Keghan Hartway and sophomore defensive end Brett Baumgartner. The following Marathon football players received honorable mention all-conference: senior linebacker Noah Gage, senior quarterback Ben Robbins, senior linebacker Nick Sommers and junior offensive lineman Peyton Lawrence.

Zack Seitz All-Region

Stratford senior offensive lineman Zack Seitz, who measures at six feet four inches and 250 pounds, was awarded to the WFCA All-Region Team 2-Small. He was also an unanimous first team all-Central Wisconsin Large (CWC-Large) offensive lineman this season.

Other Tigers receiving first team all-CWC-Large honors are senior running back Raife Smart, senior tight end Devin Ulrich and junior offensive lineman Jackson Ormond. Ulrich was also awarded unanimous first team all-CWC-Large at defensive end. Other Stratford players receiving first team all-CWC-Large are senior defensive back Elijah Lucio, junior linebacker Johnny Seitz and junior punter Braeden Schueller.

The following seniors received second team all-conference: wide receiver Elijah Lucio, defensive back Raife Smart, defensive end Kaden Griesmer, defensive tackle Cole Marten and linebacker Noah Barrett. Senior defensive back Dillon Kirsch received honorable mention all-conference.