Posted on

Co-players of the year

Co-players of the year Co-players of the year

Borchardt, Krueger best in the South

By Casey Krautkramer

Both Edgar junior Reagan Borchardt and Marathon senior Vanessa Krueger guided their teams to WIAA regional championship victories this season. The pair of strong hitters were dominating on the volleyball court this entire season, including in the Marawood Conference regular season.

It’s only fitting then that Borchardt and Vanessa Krueger share Marawood South Conference Player of the Year honors this season. Both of them are unanimous Marawood South all-Conference first team players in 2021, after they both received second team all-conference last year.

Borchardt helped Edgar to a 22-6 match record this season, after Edgar lost to Marshfield Columbus in a WIAA Division 4 sectional semifinals match. The Wildcats took second place behind Marathon in the Marawood South Conference standings this season, after dropping their lone conference defeat to the Red Raiders.

Edgar came on strong at the end of the season, however, by winning its first regional championship since 2003. Borchardt was the team’s leader again this season. She paced the Wildcats with 389 attack kills, 80 blocks and 197 digs this year.

Vanessa Krueger helped Marathon to an undefeated conference record this season to win its first Marawood South Conference championship since 2013. Marathon also won backto- back WIAA Division 3 regional titles in 2021, and its season concluded with a sectional semifinals match loss to Stanley-Boyd.

The Red Raiders finished this season with a 26-7 match record. Vanessa Krueger led Marathon with 316 digs, and she was second on the team to her sister, Ava Krueger, with 279 kills and 57 ace serves.

Marathon co-head coaches Nicole Schneider and Lynelle Love shared the Marawood South Conference Coach of the Year award.

Sophomore Leah Davis of Edgar also landed on the first team. Junior Ava Krueger of Marathon and senior Megan Wiese of Stratford were each unanimous Marawood South all-conference first team selections this season.

Auburndale junior Josie Ertl was the final unanimous first team all-con- Volleyball

ference player, and Wausau Newman junior Grace Carlson was also named to the first team.

Davis led Edgar with 64 aces and 722 pass assists. Ava Krueger, meanwhile, paced Marathon with 309 kills, 84 aces and 87 blocks. Weise led Stratford with 167 kills and 34 blocks.

Athens sophomore Jazelle Hartwig was a unanimous Marawood North all-conference player this season. She helped the Bluejays to a second-place finish in the Marawood North Conference in 2021.

Athens beat Edgar in the Marawood crossover second-place match in Marathon, but then lost to Edgar, 3-2, in a WIAA Division 4 regional championship. Athens concluded this season with a 25-10 match record. Hartwig led Athens with 300 kills and she was second on the Bluejays with 334 digs and 356 assists.

Bluejay sophomores Addison Lavicka and Sophia Coker received second team all-Marawood North Conference this season. Sophia Coker paced Athens with 58 blocks and Lavicka led Athens with 378 assists in 2021.

Lavicka tied junior Celina Ellenbecker for the team lead with 47 aces, and Lavicka was second on the team with 298 kills.

Other players to earn second team all-Marawood North Conference are sophomore Sydney Falteisek and senior Lydia Carlson of Abbotsford, junior Mallory Burcaw of Prentice and senior Lainie Heizler of Chequamegon.

Juniors Kendalyn Dahlke of Edgar and Ashley Phakitthong of Marathon, along with seniors Hailey Chapel and Ally Zuleger of Stratford, garnered second team all-Marawood South Con­Volleyball

ference honors this season.

Dahlke was second on Edgar’s squad with 175 digs. Phakitthong was second on Marathon with 403 assists.

Chapel paced Stratford with 78 aces and she was second on the team with 118 kills and 291 assists. Zuleger led Stratford with 349 assists and she was second on the Tigers with 59 aces.

Stratford beat Colby at home in the playoffs and then upset Westfield on the road, before losing to Marathon in a WIAA Division 3 regional championship.

Other players to earn second team all-Marawood South Conference are freshman Lily Shields of Wausau Newman, sophomore Kendal Duellman of Wisconsin Rapids Assumption and junior Bri Weller of Auburndale.

The following local volleyball players earned honorable mention all-Marawood South Conference this season: Junior Natalie Krause and senior Malia Hoesly of Edgar, seniors Alyssa Hall and Allison Wokatsch of Marathon and freshman Kalyn Schueller and junior Tessa Berg of Stratford.

Athens sophomore Sydney Coker and junior Savannah Epping received honorable mention all-Marawood North Conference in 2021.

COACHES OF THE YEAR- Marathon co-head coaches Nicole Schneider, left, and Lynelle Love share the Marawood South Conference coach of the year award this season.STAFF PHOTO/CASEY KRAUTKRAMER

WIESE IS UNANIMOUS FIRST TEAM SOUTH- Stratford senior Megan Weise is shown hitting the ball against Athens in the Abbotsford tournament this season. Weise was a unanimous first team all-conference selection.STAFF PHOTO/CASEY KRAUTKRAMER

UNANIMOUS IN THE NORTH- Athens sophomore hitter Jazelle Hartwig (5) is a unanimous first team all-Marawood North Conference player in 2021.STAFF PHOTO/CASEY KRAUTKRAMER