Posted on

Marathon’s Gage takes first place in Phillips

Schnelle wins another girl’s race this season

By Casey Krautkramer

Marathon varsity sophomore cross country runner Jaron Gage captured the Phillips Invitational championship on Oct. 5.

Gage ran to a first-place finish in 19 minutes, 18.10 seconds. His Red Raiders’ teammate, senior Cullen Krasselt, took second place in 19:37.20. Marathon won the team championship with a low score of 26 points, followed by host Phillips in second place with 29.

Marathon freshmen Jacob Smith placed fifth in 20:10.30 and Derek Vesely was 10th in 21:17.20. Red Raiders’ junior Owen Marks took 11th place in 21:36, sophomores Ian Blake 13th in 21:56.60 and Pierson Hamann 15th in 22:20.80, senior Colton Free 18th in 22:55.70, junior Michael Kindlarski 19th in 22:55.70, freshmen Eddie Hall 20th in 23:04.10 and Brandon Gitzlaff 25th in 24:50.40.

Edgar senior Cole Schilling took 14th place in 22:05.30 and sophomore Ethan Sondelski was 26th in 25:05.50.

Schnelle is invite champ

Edgar sophomore Morgan Schnelle took first place at the Phillips Invitational in 21:28.90. Marathon junior Julianna Thurs placed fourth in 22:00.90, Edgar senior Rachel Brewster seventh in 23:30.30 and Marathon junior Laci Hoeksema was eighth in 23:45.80.

Marathon sophomore Kali Prihoda placed 10th in 24:05.80, juniors Kayla Radtke 12th in 24:14.20 and Kamryn Sapinski 13th in 24:38.10 and sophomores Ava Buchberger 15th in 25:19 and Brianna Hieronumus 16th in 25:24.50.

Wildcats sophomore Gretchen Brewster took 18th place in 25:34.90 and freshman Rebecca Werner was 19th in 25:43.50. Red Raiders seniors McKinnley Marks finished 21st in 25:58.60 and Anna Cleven 22nd in 26:05.10. Edgar sophomore Amber Skrzypcak placed 24th in 26:31.10, freshman Ameila Gajewski 25th in 26:40.30 and sophomore Brooklyn Schwoerer was 26th in 26:48.70.

The Marathon girl’s team took second place with 67 points, behind Phillips Invite champion Wisconsin Rapids Assumption with 33. Edgar placed third with 67 points and Phillips was fourth with 80.

Vying for conference titles

Local cross country runners will compete at the Marawood Conference championship races this Thursday, Oct. 15 at Frey Field in rural Spencer.

The varsity boy’s race starts at 4 p.m. and the varsity girl’s race begins at 4:40 p.m., followed by a combined boy’s and girl’s junior varsity race.

Boys and girls cross country runners who finish in the top eight in their races will be awarded first team all-Marawood Conference this season.

Runners who take between ninth and through 16th will earn second team all-conference. Those who finish in 17th through 24th place receive honorable mention all-conference.