Posted on

Realignment request period closes with Dec. 1 deadline

The first application process for member schools requesting non-football conference realignment for the 2020-21 sports seasons closed on Dec. 1.

There are 15 schools requesting relief from their current conference affiliation including Ashland, Campbellsport, Cristo Rey Jesuit, Delavan-Darien, Eastbrook Academy, Faith Christian (Williams Bay), St. Anthony, St. Croix Falls, Salam, Tenor, University Lake School, Veritas, West De Pere, Westfield and White Lake.

All the applications received prior to the deadline are accessible on the Conference Realignment “Requests and Proposals” page on the WIAA web site.

Through the new realignment process, schools that are identified as being directly impacted by submitted requests received an email making them aware of the request. Member schools that may be impacted by a realignment application are encouraged to complete a “Member School Feedback Form” by Dec. 9.

The Conference Realignment Task Force met on Dec. 11 to review, prioritize and begin preliminary realignment solutions. On Dec. 12, schools applying for realignment consideration will be notified of the results of the review.

The Task Force will meet on Jan. 8, 2020 to hear appeals from schools that had their requests denied and receive input from member school impacted by the results of the review. The committee will modify and finalize solutions to submit to the Board of Control for consideration and communicate those modifications and solutions to the membership.

The realignment solutions will be introduced to the Board of Control on March 6, with the Board’s final consideration on April 21, 2020. A complete timeline and process for conference realignment consideration can be found on the Conference Realignment web page.