Posted on

Wilson, Breneman get state mention

Wilson, Breneman get state mention Wilson, Breneman get state mention


Medford Raiders Ean Wilson and Zac Breneman received honorable mention for the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association’s 2019 Large School All-State Team, which was announced on Monday.

The awards follow All-Great Northern Conference and All-Region 1 Large School honors for the seniors, who helped lead Medford to an 11-1 overall record, a 6-0 mark in the GNC and advancement to Level 3 in the WIAA Division 3 playoffs.

Breneman, a 6-foot, 250-pound offensive tackle was part of an offensive line that paved the way for Medford ranked second in the GNC in total offense at 346 yards per game, just behind Mosinee’s 374 yards per game. Medford’s rushing attack piled up 1,801 yards in league play, almost 600 more than any other team. Medford averaged 34 points per game overall and 39 points per game in its six GNC contests.

Overall, Medford had 3,271 rushing yards and 592 passing yards to average 322 yards per game of total offense.

Much of that offense came from Wilson, a 6-1, 205-pound running back who rewrote Medford’s rushing record book by finishing the year with a single-season record of 2,183 yards that smashed the 1992 record held by Stan Strama (1,931) and a career rushing record of 4,285 yards that beat the previous mark held by 2007 Medford graduate Cole Garczynski (3,127). He scored 29 rushing touchdowns and was three carries shy of a state record when he had 57 attempts for 311 yards in the win over Mosinee.

Wilson’s 192.3 rushing yards per game in league play, easily led the GNC. His 354 total attempts smashed the 2008 school record of 289 set by Trevor Laher.

Breneman and Wilson are the only GNC players to earn an all-state honor from the coaches association.

In the Marawood Conference, Stratford’s Ben Barten made the Small School First Team as both an offensive and defensive lineman. He was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Also from Stratford, who is playing today, Thursday, for a WIAA Division 5 state championship, Vaughn Breit is a first-team tight end/fullback, Jaykob Mikelson is a first-team defensive end and Justin Schoenherr is a first-team inside linebacker. Edgar, who is playing for the Division 7 state championship today, has Kaleb Hafferman as a first-team defensive back and Austin Miller as the first-team small-school kicker.