Posted on

Runners’ year ends in Boyceville meet




Sophomore Kate Schraufnagel and freshman Sam Syryczuk were the leading runners Saturday for the Thorp-Gilman cross country team, who completed its season at the WIAA Division 3 Boyceville sectional, held at Tiffany Creek Elementary School.

Schraufnagel finished 71st out of 106 runners for the short-handed girls team which was without seniors Molly Milliren and Brooke Webb and had only four runners. Her time was 25:32.6.

Senior Mikayla Waichulis finished with an 80th-place time of 26:04.5, her second-best time of the fall. Sophomore Abby Krug was 91st in 27:47.2 and freshman Chloe Faude was 92nd in a seasonbest 27:48.2.

Colfax freshman Molly Heidorn won a down-to-the-wire race with Fall Creek freshman Jenna Anders by 0.2 seconds. Heidorn’s winning time was 19:51. Glenwood City (42) and Cameron (97) both earned return trips as teams to the state meet with their top-two finishes at Saturday’s meet. Colfax (129), Fall Creek (133) and Chetek-Weyerhaeuser (139) rounded out the top five in the 20-team meet.

Syryczuk ended a solid season for the boys with a 53rd-place time of 19:29.4. Sophomore Jacob Barth set a new personal- best for the second straight race with an 83rd-place time of 20:51.7. Senior Riley Raether was 86th out of 124 finishers in 21:08.9, freshman Braxton Stark was 102nd in 21:49.6 for his second-best time, junior Wyatt Luzinski was 110th in 22:31.9 for his second-best time of 2019 and sophomore Preston Wampole was 118th in 26:08.2, which was another second- best time of the season.

The boys placed 15 out of 16 scoring teams with 404 points, beating Stanley-Boyd (488). There were 21 teams represented in the race. Clear Lake won the sectional title with 56 points and Mc-Donell Central earned a state trip with 61 points. Spring Valley (123), Eau Claire Regis (127) and Boyceville (159) rounded out the top five.

McDonell sophomore Dan Anderson won the individual championship in 16:56.2, comfortably pulling away from St. Croix Falls senior Trevor Lamirande (17:14.2) and Regis senior Andrew Schlitz (17:20.7).

WIAA Div. 3 Boyceville sectional team scores Girls: 1. Glenwood City, 42; 2. Cameron, 97; 3. Colfax, 129; 4. Fall Creek, 133; 5. Chetek-Weyerhaueser, 139; 6. Augusta, 167; 7. Spring Valley, 188; 8. E.C. Regis, 194; 9. McDonell Central, 199; 10.

Boyceville, 260; 11. Prairie Farm, 270; 12. Clear Lake, 286; 13. St. Croix Falls, 289; 14. Cadott, 351.

Incomplete: Thorp-Gilman, Eau Claire Immanuel Lutheran, Elmwood-Plum City, Lake Holcombe-Cornell, Owen-Withee and Stanley-Boyd.

Glenwood City and Cameron are team qualifiers for state.

Champion: Molly Heidorn, Colfax, 19:51.

State individual qualifiers: 2. Jenna Anders, Fall Creek, 19:51.2; 3. Lana Blumer, Chetek-Weyerhaeuser, 19:59; 4. Natalie Poppe, Chetek-Weyerhaeuser, 20:09.8; 7. Natalie Kreier, Clear Lake, 20:51.2.

Boys: 1. Clear Lake, 56; 2. McDonell Central, 61; 3. Spring Valley, 123; 4. Eau Claire Regis, 127; 5.

Boyceville, 159; 6. Glenwood City, 164; 7. Augusta, 168; 8. Cameron, 196; 9. St. Croix Falls, 211; 10.

E.C. Immanuel Lutheran, 222; 11. Fall Creek, 272; 12. Colfax, 298; 13. Lake Holcombe-Cornell, 329; 14. Cadott, 338; 15. Thorp-Gilman, 404; 16. Stanley-Boyd, 488.

Incomplete: Chetek-Weyerhaeuser, Elmwood-Plum City, New Auburn, Owen-Withee and Prairie Farm Clear Lake and McDonell Central are team qualifiers for state.

Champion: Dan Anderson, McDonell Central, 16:56.2.

State individual qualifiers: 2. Trevor Lamirande, St. Croix Falls, 17:14.2; 3. Andrew Schiltz, Regis, 17:20.7; 5. Josh Halverson, Cameron, 17:34.7; 7.

Charlie Maier, Spring Valley, 17:45.8; 9. Matt Thoms, Spring Valley, 17:51.7.