Posted on

Athens swears in new village board trustees

Newly elected Athens Village Board members Jessica McCord, Tami Schreiner and Christopher Perkins took their oath of office at the village board meeting on April 27 in the Athens Community Hall. McCord and Schreiner have begun serving their first two-year terms on the village board, while Perkins has served on the village board since 2000.

Village board members approved village president Chuck Kornack’s village board member committee appointments. The finance and personnel committee consists of Jonathon Haines as chairman and members Dwight Lenhard and McCord; fire and police committee has McCord as chairwoman and members Haines and Perkins and the streets committee includes Randy Decker as chairman and members Perkins and Schreiner.

Remaining board member committee appointments are the parks and public welfare committee with Schreiner as the chairwoman and members Haines and Lenhard; the public property committee of Lenhard as chairman and members Decker and McCord and the water and sewer committee with Perkins as chairman and members Decker and Schreiner.

Athens Village Board members approved village president Kornack’s other list of appointments of hiring Dietrich Vanderwaal as the village attorney, Tlusty, Kennedy and Dirks as the Athens Police Department lawyer for one-year terms and Hoffman Appraisal Service as village assessor for a two-year term.

Other appointments approved by the village board include the re-appointment of village clerk Lisa Czech as weed commissioner, Eugene Denk as forester, Ben Brooks as zoning administrator and Robert Christensen as building inspector for one-year terms.

Village board members also approved Kornack’s appointments of Perkins to the Board of Review with Lenhard and Decker as alternates; Jackie Thurs and Frank Redmann as citizen members along with village board members Perkins and Decker on the Plan Commission; Gail Zettler as chairman and Steve Brewster and Jackie Thurs with three-year terms on the Board of Appeals, with Adnay Luetschwager as the alternate.

The village board also approved the village president’s appointment of Mc-Cord and Decker as representatives along with Haines, Kornack, Lenhard, Perkins and Schreiner as alternates on the Athens Area Fire Commission; Czech and Decker to four-year terms on the Community Development Authority committee that oversees the village’s industrial park and Perkins as village president pro-tem.

In other village news:

_ The village board decided to hire Foley’s Tree Service for the treatment of four Emerald Ash Borer trees costing $990.

_ Village board members approved the Forward Bank parking lot design as presented with the modifications of eliminating the south driveway entrance, narrowing the east driveway entrance and adding a driveway into the alley. Czech said Forward Bank recently purchased the property on the corner of Alfred and Mueller streets in the village and is still in the process of designing the new Athens bank branch building before it can start excavation work on the property.

_ The village board chose to waive The Hall’s bowling alley rent for May and June because of the state’s Safer at Home order due to the coronavirus pandemic.

_ The village board decided against issuing transient merchant permits to food cart vendors during the COVID-19 pandemic.

_ Athens police chief Aaron Stencil reported to the village board he will use a $4,000 Wisconsin Department of Transportation grant to cover the majority of the cost to buy a new radio in the police squad car.