Posted on

Local FFA members earned honors at State Convention

Area FFA members and their chapters received awards at the FFA Online State Convention held from July 6-10.

From the Loyal FFA, Brianna Hederer earned her State FFA Degree, while Nick Wilke was accepted into the State FFA Band and Jenna Waldhart was accepted into the State FFA Choir. Waldhart was also awarded a silver for her Nursery Operations Proficiency Award. Receiving a gold Proficiency Award in Dairy Entrepreneurship was Tanna Luchterhand.

From the Greenwood FFA, Korinna Johnson placed gold in the Equine Science Placement Proficiency, Rhea LaMont was accepted into the State FFA Band and Destiny Durrstein was accepted into the State FFA Choir. Earning silver in their Proficiency Awards were Holly Davidson in Dairy Production Placement; Amanda Durrstein in Equine Science Placement; Andrew Morrow in Beef Production Entrepreneurship; Mesa Rasmussen in Equine Science Placement; and Austin Ruff in Dairy Production Placement.

From the Granton FFA, Rhiannon Reimer was awarded the Three-Star Leader Award, the State FFA Degree, placed fifth for Star in Agribusiness, and placed first in the Diversified Crop Production Entrepreneurship Proficiency, moving on to Nationals. Brandon Jakobi placed second in the Agricultural Services Proficiency Award; Hannah Walter earned her State FFA Degree and took third in the Diversifi ed Livestock Production Proficiency Award, and Kayla Johnson placed third in the Small Animal Production and Care Proficiency Award. Johnson, along with Jillian Tyler, was also awarded a Wisconsin FFA Foundation Scholarship.

As a chapter, the Granton FFA was also chosen as a Gold Rated Chapter based on their National Chapter Award Application and received the Largest Percentage of School Population Award with 93.5 percent of the school’s students being enrolled in the FFA organization.

From the Spencer FFA, Cortney Zimmerman was elected as the Section 7 State FFA Officer. She also placed fourth in the Star Farmer Award, third in the Star in Agricultural Placement award, and was a finalist in the Agricultural Education and Beef Production Entrepreneurship Proficiency Award. Zimmerman was also among the Spencer FFA members who received State FFA Degrees, along with Leo Rodriquez, Natalee Jensen, Zach Endreas and Shane Bauer.