Posted on

Polls open normal hours for Aug. 11 primary election

Normal polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Aug. 11 as area voters participate in primary elections for the 69th District Assembly seat and the Clark County treasurer’s position.

In the 69th District, which includes the eastern two-thirds of Clark County and parts of Marathon and Wood counties, four candidates are on the ballot on the Republican ticket, with the winner of the Aug. 11 primary to advance to the general election on Nov. 3. The candidates (in alphabetical order are): -- Tim Miller of Stratford -- Donna Rozar of Marshfield -- Michael V. Smith of Loyal -- Matthew Windheuser of Marshfield The 69th District seat has been held for several 2-year terms by Republican Robert Kulp of Stratford, but he is not seeking re-election. The four Republican candidates filed proper paperwork by the June deadline to seek the seat, and one of them will be selected next week to represent the Republican Party on the Nov. 3 ballot. The lone Democratic candidate filing for the position was Brian Giles of Marshfield. He has no challenger in the primary election.

In Clark County, two Republicans are vying for the party’s spot on the Nov. 3 ballot. Incumbent Mary Domanico is seeking a second 4-year term, and is being challened by Renee Schoen, an 18-year employee of the treasurer’s office.

There is no Democratic Party candidate for the seat, so the winner of next week’s primary election will be the presumptive winner of the treasurer’s seat, barring a write-in effort.

Polling places will be open during the normal hours on Aug. 11, with coronavirus preventative measures in place. Voters can still vote with an in-person absentee ballot at their muncipal clerk’s offices through Friday.