Posted on

Hornets abuzz with 20-year State memory

Hornets abuzz with 20-year State memory Hornets abuzz with 20-year State memory

By Ginna Young

It’s been almost 20 years to the day, that the Cadott Hornets Football team brought home the Division 4 State championship. After a 9-0 regular season record, Cadott defeated Lancaster, 34-21, in Madison, Nov. 18, 1999, the first State football trophy for the Hornets.

Cadott ran over Peshtigo, 40-0, to advance to the State game, coached by Pat Rothbauer (current Cadott High School math teacher). Rothbauer graduated from Cadott in 1981, went on to attend UW-Eau Claire, then returned to Cadott to teach and lead his former team to a championship, to end the millennium in a memorable way.

To recreate the excitement of that time, the current coaching staff and volunteers have organized a 20th anniversary celebration for the Hornets’ last regular season home game, Friday, Oct. 18, at 7 p.m.

“The 1999 team’s State championship was a huge accomplishment,” said organizers of the anniversary celebration. “It was an exciting time for this town.”

Members of the 1999 team, including coaching staff and managers, are asked to check in on the west end of the field that night, at the Hornets merchandise table. At halftime, the championship team will line up and be announced, as the emcee recognizes the 1999 team, and gives a brief recap of the game.

A new sign proclaims for all the world to see, that the Cornell Little League field bears the name of the Craig Bauer Memorial Field. To commemorate its 30th year, the sign was installed this fall, in remembrance of Bauer, who was a member of Little League. (Inset) The original dedication plaque was discovered while cleaning the concession stand at the field, prompting action from current t-ball league coaches. 20-year State memory

Afterward, there will be an informal reception at Halfway Hall, with light refreshments and music. The championship game will be played on a projector for those in attendance, as well as housing displays of newspaper articles, while the community reminisces.

Each member of the team will receive a 20th anniversary t-shirt, which will also be available for fans to purchase.

Listed on the roster for the 1999 team, are Lonny Amdahl, Jacob Arneson, Curt Bergsholm, Adam Blanchette, Eric Bourget, Josh Bourget, Isaiah Burish, Brent Crank, Anthony Goettl, Jesse Goettl, Darek Holbus, Lee Jankee, Lyle Jankee, James Karlen, Adam Ketterhagen, Cory Kimball, Richie Korb, Jerrod Leslie, Mark Mailly, Jake Mlsna, Joe Moravec, Nathan Much, Tom Paff, John Peterlik, Eric Poppe, Josh Reed, Tony Riley, Luke Rykal, Nathan Rykal, Justin Scheidler, Brad Sonnentag, Brandon Spaeth, Shawn Spaeth, Dean Stangl, Chad Stanek, Bronson Stelzer, Matt Waldusky and Chris Zenner.

Assistant coaches, were Bob Billen, Clay Gindt, Matt Pronschinske and Doug Nelson, while the manager was Tom Spaeth.

The celebration organizers say they are thankful for all the community support for the football programs.

“We have tried to recapture the passion this town had for Cadott football in the late ’90s,” they said. “For the 20-year anniversary, we want to recognize those who achieved that huge win and also harness that energy to continue to build support for our current teams. We’ve had great attendance at games this year, and hope we can fill the stands to show appreciation for the 1999 team.”

Michael Romanowski tries his hand at ring toss, as part of outdoor games during an Octoberfest celebration at The Church of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Jim Falls. The Oct. 6 festival, also featured raffle prizes and a bake sale.