Posted on

Send Athens news to: ….

Send Athens news to: …. Send Athens news to: ….

Send Athens news to: phone: 715-223-2342 fax: 715-223-3505 P.O. Box 677 103 West Spruce Street Abbotsford, WI 54405 Village hall closed

The Athens municipal building clerk’s office and police department have been closed until further notice.

To contact the police department for non-emergency issues, call 715-257-7611. To contact the clerk’s office, call 715-257-9170, or e-mail to athensclerk@villageofathens. com.

Absentee voting

In person absentee voting in the Village of Athens will be done by appointment only. Call or e-mail to set up a time. You can also request a ballot by mail. For more information, check the village’s Facebook page.

St. Anthony’s closed

The St. Anthony’s Catholic church has cancelled all of its masses as of March 20 until further notice. This also includes masses held at St. Thomas Catholic Church.

Trash pick-up

In response to the COVID - 19 pandemic, effective immediately, Advanced Disposal will not collect any trash/refuse or recycling that is not properly placed in a container.

All trash/refuse must be bagged and placed in containers that do not exceed 32 gallons or weigh more than 50 pounds.

Recycling must be placed loose in a container or receptacle clearly labeled “recycling.”

All bulky item pick-up/collection is suspended until further notice.

Blood drive move

The Medford community blood drive hosted by the Blood Center of Northcentral Wisconsin has been relocated to the Medford High School cafeteria at 1015 W. Broadway Avenue Medford, WI 54451 to accommodate social distancing and safety guidelines around COVID-19. The blood drive has also been extended into a two-day event to allow proper spacing between appointments.

The two-day event is scheduled to run from Wednesday, April, 1 from 1:30-5:30 p,m. and again on Thursday, April 2, from 1:30-5:30 p.m.

For information, contact Ashley Bohman at 715-650-0081, or e-mail at ashley.bohman@

Middle school honors

Athens High School has announced its honor roll for the third quarter of the 2019-20 school year.

Highest Honors

Grade six: Riley Schultz-Becker and Isabella Zastrow.

Grade eight: Jennifer Espinoza- Quiroz.

High Honors

Grade six: Vanessa Espinoza- Quiroz, Jordan Frahm, Sy’Rih Hartwig, Taylor Hein and Makayla Schreiner.

Grade seven: Bailey Hanke, Braiden Imhoff, Arwyn Stewart and Ellyanne Manecke.

Grade eight: Jenna Handschke, Jazelle Hartwig, Faith Nowak and Kiara Nowacki.


Grade six: Gavin Frahm, Alyvia Haehlke, Brandon Krause, Hector Manchaca Wiemer, Evin Passehl, Karla Ramirez Bernal and Bradley Yessa.

Grade seven: Sarai Aguilar-Hernandez, Lily Butler, Aleah Frahm, Lily Hiles, Nicholas Pittman and Aaliyah Thompson.

Grade eight: Jakob Annala, Sophia Coker, Sydney Coker, Addison Lavicka, Emma Normand, Cambrea Sarasin and Kaydin Streit.

High school honors

Athens High School has announced its honor roll for the third quarter of the 2019-20 school year.

Highest Honors

Grade 10: Mathew Redmann, Cassandra Riehle, Elizabeth Van Rixel and Madison Wagner-Durr.

Grade 11: Cobie Ellenbecker, Maleah Redmann and Heidi Verpoorten.

Grade 12: Kellie Annala, Aaron Hartmann and Courtney Murkowski.

High Honors

Grade nine: Celina Ellenbecker, Emma Ford, Connor Komarek, Annika Kulas, Dominic Lewandowski, Sierra Nowacki, Piper Wagner, Nathan Wolf and Addyson Zettler.

Grade 10: Alexus Aguilar-Hernandez, Chloe Boneske, Hannah Bozkurt, Cooper Diedrich, Aiden Guralski, Evan Guralski, Blake Imhoff, Brooks Kraus, Anna Nowicki, Kenesha Schugg and Lila Thompson.

Grade 11: Jacob Brumbaugh, Dana Felzkowski, Bradyn Peterson, Maleah Redmann, Kaitlyn Riehle, Nancy Schreiner, Caleb Welbes, Autumn Westfall and Anna Wheatley.

Grade 12: Halle Albrecht, Eli Bunkelman, Benjamin Ellenbecker, Chase Ellenbecker, Dayna Ellenbecker, Alex Erickson, Mitchell Gore, Tori Halopka, Andrew Hartmann, Paula Lira, Johnathon Nowacki, Abigail Olson, Brock Thompson, Abigail Van Rixel, Kiera Weiler, Tanner Westfall and Allison Wolf.


Grade nine: Kyler Ellenbecker, Elle Gauerke, Brooke Jacob, Katlyn Schreiner, Olivia Schreiner, Connor Sheahan and Jacob VanDerLinden.

Grade 10: Caleb Borchardt, Andrew Frick, Siarra Hart, Kody Lepak, Cody Murkowski and McKennzie Schug.

Grade 11: Shauna Belter, Jarrett Daul, Crystal Dearth, Dayne Diethelm, Cameron Imhoff, Grace Johnson, Michael Komarek, Alexander Mengel, Gary Peel and Caleb Sarasin.

Grade 12: Mersadies Albrecht, Marisol Bonilla, Carter Brunke, Izzy denOtter, Heather Diedrich, Cameron Ford, Elizabeth Hoffman, Nicole Langreck, Edison Marohl, Courtney Sommer, Reanna Stowe, Courtney Tesch, Connor Westfall and Daniel Zoromski.