Posted on

Loyal mayor seeks new term, Spencer will have new village president

Loyal’s mayor will run unopposed in April for a second 2-year term while Spencer will be getting a new village president after April 6. Those are a few of the situations that developed after the Jan. 5 deadline for spring election candidate filing came and went.

Loyal Mayor Carmen Englebretson will run for a new term on April 6, and no one filed paperwork by the Tuesday deadline to run against her. The city does have one spot open for its city Council though, as Ward 1 incumbent Council member Betty Gluch-Voss is not seeking a new term, and nobody filed to run for the seat. Incumbents Curtiss Lindner (Ward 1) and Kris Schultz and Greg Brock in Ward 2 are seeking new terms and will be unopposed on April 6 ballots.

In the village of Spencer, incumbent President Pauline Frome filed non-candidacy papers in December. Village Board member Harry Toufar filed papers to run for the job, and will not be opposed for it. Incumbent trustees Jeremy Carolfi, Bill Hoes and Tom Schafer all filed for re-election and will be unopposed for new 2-year terms on the Board.

The Greenwood City Council will get at least one new member in spring as at-large incumbent Doug Schlough will not run for a new term. Dave Hansen is the lone candidate to file for that seat. In the city’s Ward 1, incumbent Travis Petke will seek a new 2-year term, and will be opposed by Deanna Jordan. Petke was appointed in 2020 to fill the remainder of the seat held by Chuck Susa, who resigned.

The Loyal School District will have one contested race in April. Incumbent Carrie Becker is running for a new 3-year term representing the city of Loyal, and she will be opposed by Kevin Klimpke. Harlan Hinkelmann, who represents the area of the district north of Highway 98, is running unopposed for a new term.

In the Spencer School District, incumbent and former Board president Jim Krasselt is not seeking a new term. Jordan Buss was the the lone candidate to file for candidacy for the at-large seat. KaSandra Justman is also running for a rural seat to fill the remainder of the 3-year term to which she was appointed last year.

In the Greenwood district, incumbents Dean Lindner and Jerome Krempasky will run unopposed for new 3-year terms. Lindner is the at-large representative on the Board and Krempasky represents the northwestern quadrant of the rural area.

In Granton, incumbent Board members Theresa Hasz and Paul Knoff are both running unopposed, as well.

Area townships will also be electing chairmen, supervisors, clerks and treasurers in spring. Townships will hold caucuses in January to select candidates for those positions.

If more than two candidates are nominated for any of the seats, a primary would be held on Feb. 16.