Posted on

Local office candidates have until Jan. 5 to file paperwork

The clock is now running for potential candidates for Loyal mayor, Spencer village president, and other local government seats to get their names on spring election ballots.

Dec. 1 was the first day for April 6, 2021 election candidates to begin filling out paperwork and obtaining nomination signatures for various local offices. Those who want to pursue seats on their city/village boards and on local boards of education have until Jan. 5 to file what they need with their respective government clerks.

The city of Loyal will be electing a mayor in 2021. Carmen Englebretson has held that job for the past two years, and will need to run for re-election to hold it. Others in the city of Loyal who will see their terms end in spring are city council members Betty Gluch-Voss and Curtiss Lindner in Ward 1 and Kris Schultz and Greg Brock in Ward 2.

The current 2-year term of Spencer Village President Pauline Frome will also end in spring, and she, as well, will have to go through the election process to keep it. Three trustees on the village board will also be up for new terms: Tom Schafer, Bill Hoes and Jeremy Carolfi.

The city of Greenwood chose its mayor in 2020, so it will not be doing so this spring. City council members whose terms are ending, though, include Travis Petke (Ward 1) and Doug Schlough (atlarge).

Area school boards will also be in the election process this spring.

In Granton, incumbent board members Theresa Hasz and Paul Knoff are near the end of their 3-year terms, and district voters will either re-elect them or choose someone new in April.

In the Greenwood district, incumbents Jerome Krempasky and Dean Lindner are up for new terms. Krempasky’s seat is for the rural area of the district west of Highway 73 and north of a line along Highway G extended, while Lindner’s is an at-large one.

In Loyal, two board members are up for new terms. They are Carrie Becker, who represents the city of Loyal, and Harlann Hinkelmann, who represents the rural area of the district north of Highway 98.

In Spencer, incumbents Jim Krasselt and Kasandra Justman are up for election. Krasselt’s seat -- an at-large one -- is up for a 3-year term. Justman was appointed to a seat that represents the rural areas of the district, and whomever is elected to it in April will fill the final two years of a 3-year term.

All area townships will also be choosing chairmen, supervisors, clerks and treasurers in April. The towns will hold caucuses in January where candidates